Friday 13 July 2012

Doyle Dominates Round Two

Last Friday’s second round of the Leisure Lakes Circuit Series at Cheltenham racecourse got off to a rapid start, as the Swindon based rider, Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles/Specialized), attacked hard on the first lap of the hour race. The cyclo-cross specialist proved unstoppable on the tight, twisting circuit and quickly opened up a formidable lead.

Last week’s winner, James Phillips, and GWR’s Rupert Denny, pushed hard to get across to the lone leader on the fast circuit but couldn’t get across. Attacks from the likes of Bishops Cleeve based, Richard Cleaver, were also to no avail, much the disappointment of the local crowd. As Doyle approached the final lap, he led the race by nearly half a lap and eventually took a superb solo win in front of the appreciative crowd. The podium places were hotly contested in the bunch sprint for the line, with last week’s winner Phillips and Rob Westwood taking 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The women’s race was won by Beth Crumpton of Scott Contessa Epic RT.

The ever competitive youth races were well fought out with the highlight of the evening being a classy solo win in the under 16s race by Bishops Cleeve based rider, Tom Marshall of Velo Club Montpellier. Tom attacked the race furiously at the midway point and road away from a large Stratford CC contingent to win the race alone. The under 14s race was won by Kier Lewis of Stratford CC and the under 12s were won by Andrew Wheatley of Halesowen CC. Luke Simons (Stratford CC), won the under 10s, and Jacobs Barrett (Stratford CC), won the under 8s. Cerys Simmonds of Stratford CC won the under 8 girls race.


 1. Crispin Doyle - Hargroves Cycles / Specialized
 2. James Phillips - Severn RC (last weeks winner)
 3. Rob Westwood - M&D Kinetica Racing Team
 4. Lewis King - Beeline Bicycles RT
 5. Tony Kiss - RPC RT
 6. Rupert Denny - GWR Team
 7. Cameron Foster - Team Zappi
 8. Scott Chalmers - Dream Cycling
 9. Harry Walton - Cheltenham & County CC
10. Richard Cleaver -

1. Beth Crumpton - Scott Contessa Epic RT

1. Tom Marshall - VC Montpellier
2. Thomas Lane - Stratford CC
3. Andrew Butler - Stratford CC
4. Peter Musgrave - Stratford CC

1. Keir Lewis - Stratford CC
2. Joe Wood - Cheltenham & Co CC

1. Andrew Wheatley - Halesowen CC
2. Ben Sluman - VC Montpellier

1. Luke Simmonds - Stratford CC
2. David Meyer - Cheltenham & Co CC

1. Cerys Simmonds (Girl) - Stratford CC
2. Jacob Barrett - Stratford CC
3. Daniel Ascroft - Cheltenham & Co CC