Friday 09 July 2010

Doyle Wins Grand Finale of Circuit Series

The final round of the Leisure Lakes Bikes Circuit Series took place on a warm summer’s evening last Friday at Cheltenham racecourse. Fast high octane racing once again thrilled the large crowds that had come to watch the grand finale race.

The race included a number of local riders, namely; Velo Club Montpellier’s Jeremy Addis, Cheltenham and County CC’s Dave Squire and Corinium CC’s Callum Lister. It was Addis who was first to show himself at the head of the race as he attacked fiercely in the early stages of the final round of series. His early efforts quickly managed to split the race which contained over 30 riders. Addis was also able to take two riders with him and this soon enabled him to pull out a small advantage over the fast moving peloton. At this point, however, the earlier round winners of Jacob Tipper (Halesowen) and Steven Allen (Kenilworth), who were also in the race, were still left stranded in the main peloton behind.

As the grand finale race hotted up, and the chasing bunch of riders increased their speed behind, the slim lead at the front of the race began to fall rapidly. Swindon RC’s Crispin Doyle, who had consistently taken a top three placing in the two previous rounds, was particularly vigilant and aggressive at the head of the race. The efforts of Doyle, Tipper, Allen and Corinium CC’s Callum Lister soon pulled the early escape group back into the main peloton. The race was then on - as the overall speed of the race rocketed.

Doyle contained to be aggressive and put in a series of strong attacks towards the final stages of the circuit race. Team Echelon/Spiuk rider, Vince Page, was able to follow as was round two winner Steven Allen (Kenilworth). The peloton behind was quickly fragmenting at this point and Lister was also able to escape the peloton as Page slipped back, leaving Doyle and Allen at the head of the race.

The final sprint between Allen and Doyle was thrilling. At the bottom of the finish straight, Doyle hit the front and accelerated hard, putting Allen on the back foot. When Doyle started his strong sprint, Allen was not able to follow and Doyle took a stylish win in front of the large expectant crowd. Allen took second, whilst Page and Lister managed to stay clear to take fourth and fifth respectfully.

The women’s race was once again won by round two winner Marianne Britten of the Maxgear Racing Team.

Main senior race:
 1. Crispin Doyle (Swindon RC)
 2. Steven Allen (Kenilworth Wheelers)
 3. Vince Page  (Team Echelon/Spuik)
 4. Callum Lister (Corinium CC)
 5. Jacob Tipper (Halesowen A&CC)
 6. Scott Law (Evesham Wheelers)
 7. Rob Edgell (Somer Valley CC)
 8. Joe Page (Team Echelon/Spuik)
 9. David Curtis-Whitfield (Avonlea Treasure RT)
10. Dan Bill (Cult Racing)
11. Gerry Bowditch (CC Abergavenny)
12. Scott Chalmers (Dream Zero G)
13. Rupert Denny (Team Nemesis GB)

 1. Marianne Britten
 2. Lucy Creamer
 3. Naomi Anderson