Wednesday 10 June 2009

Round 2: VC Montpellier – Winchcombe

After the first round was cancelled due to flooding it was almost a repeat situation as the thunder echoed across the sky around Winchcombe. Luckily though the flash flooding that plagued the rest of Gloucestershire didn't quite materialise.

The riders set off in three groups as usual and all set about working well despite the conditions. After two laps the second and scratch group had joined forces and it wasn't long before they caught the remnants of the first group. Shortly after this a group of five escaped including last years overall winner Green.

He was joined by Bayton, Jamieson, Coombs and Alexander and they held a narrow advantage until the finish. Alexander made a bid for victory on the last lap though the break didn't give him much time and Coombs did some strong work to pull it back together before the finish climb.

Bayton led out the sprint and managed to hold on to the line narrowly beating Jamieson with Green not far behind.

The bunch sprint was more compact with Brookhouse taking it on the line followed by Kembury.

 1. Grant Bayton (Sports Beans)
 2. Duncan Jamieson (Felt RC)
 3. Kurt Green (VC Montpellier)
 4. Wayne Coombs (VC Montpellier)
 5. Ian Alexander (Cheltenham & County CC)
 6. Graham Brookhouse (VC Montpellier)
 7. William Kembury (Cheltenham & County CC)
 8. Neil Biggs (VC Montpellier)
 9. Adam Gellatly (Epic Viner RT)
10. Dave White (VC Montpellier)